Since its founding in 1780, Plymouth Meeting Friends School has been under the care of the Plymouth Monthly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers). PMFS is an incorporated, not-for-profit school whose Trustees (School Committee) are responsible for the general oversight of the School. The School Committee Trustees are nominated by the Membership Committee and brought to School Committee for approval. The School Committee is composed of fifteen members: ten Quakers, at least six from Plymouth Monthly Meeting, and five at-large members. A faculty representative, the Co-Clerks of PTO, and the Head of School are Ex Officio members.

The School Committee is responsible for appointing the Head of School, setting policies and guidelines of operation, carrying out the purpose of the corporation and the School’s educational philosophy, maintaining the stability of the school through fiduciary responsibility, stewardship of the physical plant, oversight of financial assets, leadership for development, and leadership for strategic planning.

PMFS School Committee

Rob Cope, Clerk
Fran Blackstone
Michael Clarke
Carol Coffin
Carol Corson
Marialice Dancy
Trina Berk, PTO Co-Clerk (ex officio)
John Gilliland, Assistant Clerk
Lynn Hedges, PTO Co-Clerk (ex officio)
Dan Heider
Audrey Henninger, Faculty Representative (ex officio)
Fran Johnston, Assistant Clerk
Melissa McDonald Lide
Jeff Markovitz, Treasurer
Brenda Crawley, Head of School (ex officio)